Super Simple Cup Cozy and Template

cupcozy2While getting ready for a craft show recently, I came across an article by One Dog Woof. She had some fantastic thoughts, by far my favorite was on packaging, turning the “simplest things into beautiful gifts.” I gave it a go and was so glad for it.

Slipping the cozies over the cup shape template brought them into the “Great Gift Idea” instantly!  I had an order for 20 of them as soon as they went public.

I worked up a super simple cozie pattern and went to work designing a cup cozy template.  What’s great is the template will work for virtually any cup cozy.

Super Simple Cup Cozy Pattern

K Hook (6.5mm)

Lily Sugar ‘n Cream Cotton Yarn

Edited to Add: Thanks to some input from some great ladies over at My Hobby is Crochet, I found out these cozies have been coming up differently for different people.

Hint One: Stick with Cotton Yarn. It will hold its shape better.

Hint Two: Your finished size should be approximately 3 – 3.5 inches from top to bottom and about 8 inches around. If you aren’t getting this finished size you can drop a hook size. If you find you have too much stretch in your cozy or it is too big from the start, Reduce your beginning ch. 

Hint Three: One Crocheter used the template and had her cups printed on card stock at Staples! What a fantastic idea.

Chain 21

Row 1:  Working in the back loop of the 2nd chain from hook, HDC across. Join your last HDC to the top of your first HDC (20)

Rows 2-8: Chain 2, HDC in each HDC space around. Join with slip stitch. (20)

When you have worked 8 total rows of HDC, Join at the top and weave in ends. Use buttons or any variety of charms to decorate the cozy as you see fit.  Changing up colors and yarns gives you more variety.

Super Simple Cup Cozy Printable Pattern

santacozy

Cup Cozy Template

Print out the template form below, on brown card stock. I got mine in packs of 50 at Michael’s.

cups

Cup Cozy Template

HINT: To keep the cozies secure in place, I use bobby pins. They slip over the stitch on the edge and the pin hides under the cozy.

Edited to add:

I was asked to post a photo of how I placed the bobby pins to secure the cozy onto the template. Photo below. The bobby pins also serve as a way to keep extra items in place, ie; tea bags, cocoa, or gift card. You can poke it out the top and still hold it in place with the pins behind the cozy.

bobbypin placement

Edited to add:

While I was out and about looking around Pinterest, I found another very talented lady who came up with a printable template several years back. It is strikingly similar to mine. If you would like to check it out, and have another option to use you can find it here:

Tinker With This

So, tell me, do you attend craft shows, as a vendor or a patron? What draws you to a product or booth? Do you have pet peeves that make you turn away from a table at a show? Things that attract you?  I’d love to know!

149 thoughts on “Super Simple Cup Cozy and Template

  1. Hi I’ve been looking for that template and more I was actually wondering if you have or know where I can find some for boot cuffs and such? Like the ones that would wrap around instead of the item wrapping around it.

    • I am actually working on formatting a few things right now. I have several different boot cuff options, tags and a mug cozy. I’m in high hopes of getting them posted by tomorrow.

  2. Pingback: Hooked With Heart! Templates and Patterns for Free, Oh My! | Frogging Along

  3. Thank you for all the free templates! I have been thinking of selling items at a local craft fair next year, and these will help showcase my items. I found your site through The Crochet Crowd on FB.

      • =( I saw this on Crochet Addict. Cotton is definitely a better option. I used Michaels Impeccable brand on the santa cozies. They are a bit stretchier than the others. Try the cotton out. If that doesn’t work try to reduce your starting chain. You could be crocheting loosely. Feel free to message me if you need any help! I’m on Facebook.

  4. Pingback: 11/29/14 Free Crochet Pattern Links | Free Crochet Patterns

  5. I am in love with the cozy template and pattern! Thank you so much for creating and sharing this. I plan on printing these for my next craft show. Have you thought of making can cozy templates too? Just a thought…

    Thank you again!! Merry Christmas :D

  6. Thanks so much for sharing! These are awesome! I just made a bunch of cup cozies and I couldn’t figure out how to display them so they looked neat and professional. This template will help a lot … can’t wait to try it out! :)

  7. Pingback: Santa Claus Mason Jar Cosy - Pops de Milk

  8. Thank you for sharing this! I was wondering if you could tell me the dimensions of the printable template, or if there’s a way to make it bigger? My print out is measuring 3.5″ across from the widest part of the lid, and about 5 1/4″ from top to bottom. Is that the size it’s suppose to be? Thank you again, this is such an awesome idea for packaging!

  9. Super thanks for the template for the cup cozy! Now I just need to find one for hands for my fingerless paw warmers (gloves). Surprisingly difficult to find. Just a preference that I make all of my cup cozies out of cotton, I just imagine spilling boiling water on acrylic and it melting. Not likely, but doesn’t mean it wouldn’t happen. So yeah, I’m with you and only use 100% cotton on my coffee cozies, and my coasters.

  10. Hello! I absolutely love your work & templates! Thank you! Quick question though, is there any way to edit (like add wording) or different colors to the template on my own? Very much appreciated! Thanks :-)

  11. HELP. On your cup cozy printables what paper did you use? Also yours look like they were stamp cut out as they have a 3d look how did you do this? Did you print these yourself and just cut with scissors or did you use a company to do it for you as they look way more professional quality than I can do at home with scissors. They are flat and do not look very good. Thanks

  12. Did you hdc in the back loop every time or just on the first row? I’m accustomed to crocheting into both loops so just wondering if it will affect the look…

  13. I just found this cup template on Pinterest and I wanted to thank you! I have a couple questions about the printer settings- Are you printing “Actual size” or “Fit to page”?? Is this landscape or portrait? My measurements are not quite coming to 4 1/2″ x 7/1/2″ which is why I wanted to clarify. This is so helpful and I really appreciate that you have also posted how much you sell the cozies for.

    • I had to fiddle with my settings a bit to get it to work. In the end, I ended up putting it in one of my painting programs so I could down-size these a bit. I think I remember them being a little too big printing just as they are. I also ended up using the rest of the paper with a cut out stamper thing (so good with words, I am) to make price tags for my cozies for craft shows. Works great! Hope that *might* have helped some.

  14. What size is the template supposed to come out as for the cup cozy mine is using a full size 8 1/2 x 11 sheet paper for 2 cupsGood what do the cup to measure it just seems like it’s printing very large

Leave a Reply

