Hold On To Your Britches!

Dishcloth Britches

Dishcloth Britches

Do you remember these? I remember going to the church bazaar with my grandma and seeing them with the little poem attached. There are several versions of the poem floating around.

I did this pair up for a gift and did my own revised version of the poem:

With lots of love and lots of stitches,
I made for you these little britches.
Filled with warm and happy wishes…
Just untie the ribbons and use them for dishes!

They are super simple to make. I started with two square wash clothes. It doesn’t really matter which pattern you use. I kept it simple with these.

Simple Dishcloth
(Make Two)

Materials:
K Hook
Lily Sugar’n Cream Cotton Yarn
Ribbon to attach britches.

Ch 28.
(Work row 1 into the back loop of the chain.)
Row 1 hdc in second chain from hook. Continue across to the end. Ch 2 turn.
Repeat Row 1 until you have enough rows to form a square.
(Rows will vary depending how loose or tightly you crochet.)
Tie off and weave in ends.

Simple Dishcloth

Simple Dishcloth

Fold dish clothes in half. Weave in ribbon two rows from the bottom. Tie ribbon, gathering the dishcloth to form the bottom of the pant leg. Repeat with other dishcloth.

imageimageimage

Line the two “legs” up so they look like britches and weave a ribbon into the second row connecting the two parts. Tie with a bow.

image

Secure with two more bows that you weave through both layers to make the britches complete.

image

Attach your poem and you are ready to go!

Chime in! I’d love to hear from you. Do you remember these? Have you made them? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Casting off until the next time we hook up!

Sheri

15 thoughts on “Hold On To Your Britches!

  1. I can remember my aunt making these when I was a kid…what kind of yarn do you use? I am going to have to make these!!

Leave a Reply

